Tell Me Something Tuesday #TMST – 14th March

Tell Me Something Tuesday is a weekly discussion post hosted by Jen @That’s What I’m Talking About, where bloggers discuss a wide range of topics from books and blogging to life in general. Weigh in and join the conversation by adding your thoughts in the comments. If you want to do your own post, grab the questions from Jen’s blog and answer them on your own.




How do you measure blogging success?

Followers, page views, interactions, etc.

Blogging has always been much more about me having a space to share my bookish views and thoughts, so “success” hasn’t been a feature of my plans in general. Comments from other bloggers do make me feel the effort has been worthwhile, which is why I try to visit blogs I enjoy reading as often as possible to leave a comment.

Some other interactions hold less appeal to me as a lot of bloggers will follow you and like posts with the hope that you will return the favour,. Since they don’t visit the page and read its content those likes and follows feel a little empty.



6 thoughts on “Tell Me Something Tuesday #TMST – 14th March

  1. It’s very hard to measure a bookblog’s success. I guess it depends on your goals. I look at interaction as success because I love talking about books with other book lovers even if we don’t read the same genres. But # of followers and stuff ( especially if the don’t interact) doesn’t mean a whole lot. Excellent post!

    Like

  2. I’m with you as I enjoy it as my own space to talk about books. I do sometimes get a bit envious that there are bloggers who have tons of likes, but then I know I cannot spare the time to visit that many blogs to read and return the favor. Again, like you, I don’t want to just visit a page and hit like without reading the content and engaging a bit more. Therefore, I keep it to a handful of blogs I know have similar reading interests with enough variety to find some books I may not have reached for without the recommendation.

    Like

  3. I agree. I enjoy comments and interacting with other readers, so when I get to do that, I feel like I’m winning!

    Like

  4. I think there was one point where I wanted world domination, but now, I am happy with the small circle of bloggers I interact with. As long I still enjoy putting together posts, I will continue to blog.

    Like

Comments are closed.