FORBIDDEN

FORBIDDEN (Dark Necessities Prequels Book #3)

Book #2 ended with Lily in the boot (trunk) of Ethan’s car, kicking out the tail lights to try and grab someone’s attention. What follows was NOT what I expected, Ms Brandon did not travel the more expected (and cliched) paths with Forbidden. This led to a story that, whilst perhaps, not as filled with drama and angst as the previous two books, allowed us to really (re)connect with both characters, to fall in love with their love story and to understand the choices they ultimately made.

The epilogue, from Connor’s perspective, was rather a sucker punch to the gut. Not only that but it actually altered my perception of him somewhat. Would I have felt differently about him in his books had I read these first? Who knows, it’s a moot point. Very clever of you though Ms Brandon because I now desperately want to re-read his story!

Back to THIS book, and what a journey it took us on. There are some fairly significant time line jumps in this book, though excellent writing ensures you are always aware of WHEN you are in the story. It might have been nice to have had some missing events actually included in the story, though that would have been more for my own preference than it actually adding anything of true value.

The way Lily and Ethan strengthened their bond towards the end was at times scorching hot and yet also heart breaking. Even though the very first book pointed towards a very specific outcome at the end of this, a part of me was waiting – indeed hoping – for some ‘trickery fakery’ to occur. I’m not going to say if it did or not because *spoilers!*,

The emotion of this book, the strength of feeling, was brilliantly portrayed throughout. Did Ethan do enough to make me forgive him? I don’t think you CAN forgive a man for this heinous crimes he committed, but you can love him despite them. And love him Lily did. He in turn clearly worshipped the very ground on which she walked. He also, as much as he could, loved his two sons. Sons that were going to be hurt as a consequence of his actions both past and present. 

It goes without saying that Ethan was selfish, particularly when he ‘slipped’, but even then I couldn’t bring myself to hate him. Even when his actions would devastate those he loved, when the resulting ripples threatened to drown those around him, he still managed to stay wedged in both mine and Lily’s hearts. This was both the best and worst ending to their story, the conclusion I most and least wanted. 

The Dark Necessities Prequel is an amazing trilogy. It is one that will raise you high before sending you crashing to the ground, broken into many pieces, before gluing you back together and starting the whole cycle again. It is full of delicious darkness, compelling kinkiness, terror, angst and love. I have loved following Lily and Ethan’s story and do recommend this story to those who like their stories on the depraved side.

BLURB

Once upon a time, I was a monster.

A predator who seized women just to get my kicks.
And then along came Lily. Lily–the light that chased my demons away.
Consumed with love for her, I finally put the sins of those torrid times behind me, until one dark day, everything changes.

I’m lured back into the shadows, the monster awoken again and now it will take every ounce of Lily’s submission to pull me back from the brink.
My betrayal sends our lives into a spiral of despair, and with justice looming on the horizon, it’s time we faced The End.

Forbidden is a gripping, powerful, and emotional page turner with a breathtaking climax for fans of dark romance with a twist of true crime. It is the third in The Dark Necessities Prequels trilogy.

This book contains dark and twisted scenes. You have been warned…

AMAZON US – https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07TTV57VH/

AMAZON UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07TTV57VH/

GOODREADS – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/46761314-forbidden

One thought on “FORBIDDEN

Comments are closed.